Review – Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

51VCKYAlgxL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Published by Razorbill in December 2012
Genres: Young Adult Fantasy
Pages: 412
Average Rating: 3.85
Goodreads
Book Depository
Amazon

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….

I don’t even know where to begin. I had really high expectations about the book since I’ve heard nothing but great things from BookTube and I really wanted to like it, but I was more than a little disappointed.

It felt like it took months to finish it even though it “only” took a week (I usually read a book in 2-4 days). To be totally honest, it was boring and really, really predictable. I don’t have anything against slow-paced fantasy books if it has something to tell and every part of it leads somewhere important, that’s where this story lacked big time. Most parts of the book didn’t need to be there at all in my opinion, don’t know if they’re going to lead somewhere in later books but it was one of the main things that made this book boring.

I just expected more from this story. It just wasn’t enough.

I didn’t really care about the characters, at all. The only one that I cared even a little bit about was Cleo and it wasn’t until the end I knew that I wanted to know what would happen to her. She was kind of annoying and really childish for the first 2/3 parts of the book, but it was mixed with something that I can’t put my finger on. But anyways, she grew quite a bit in my eyes in the last few chapters and I want to read more about her in the future.

Before reading the last few chapters I didn’t think I was going to read more books from Morgan Rhodes, in this series anyways. But after finishing it I was intrigued enough to at least give the second book a shot, but it won’t be a priority.

My rating before finishing the book was 2,5 at most, but by the end it got up to a 3.

christmas_star3

Kommentera

