Januari Wrap-Up | 2016

January was a weird month to say the least. I think I’m still kind of in a reading slump that started in October or November last year. I haven’t really enjoyed what I have read and have been forced to put down books midway to pick something else up and finish the first book after finishing the second. I mean, I have wanted to read, a lot, but I don’t know, it has just been weird. Lets stop at that.

This month I finished 6 books. Which is way more than I thought at first. So I guess I’m alright with this month after all.

The first book I read was Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Which I liked a lot, but was spoiled about halfway through (I had succeeded so far not to be spoiled) so I was a bit bummed about that. It was a quick read and I liked the story and the characters a lot. I have Cinder 4 stars and I can’t wait to continue with this series.

The second book I read, or rather listened to, to was The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. I had wanted to read this book for quite a while since the organization and decluttering technique intrigued me and I wanted to try it for myself. I found the audiobook on YouTube and went for it. I thought the book was great, though there were some things I didn’t agree with I did some KonMari (as the technique is called) in my wardrobe to try it out) and it worked really well. I gave this book 4 stars and will buy the physical book in the future.

During the same time I listened to Marie Kondo’s book, I read a Swedish biography about a well-known comedian here in Sweden, Robert Gustavsson, Från vaggan till Deadline (title translated to From Cradle to Deadline). It was ok, better than I had expected and I’m really happy that I decided to finally read it, I think I had it in my bookshelf for about five years or so (as with many of my other books). I gave this book 3 stars.

The fourth book I decided to read was The Cellar by Natasha Preston, which I got in the mail the very same day I started to read it. I had been wanting to read it for months and couldn’t wait. I Loved this book! It was so screwed up and weird and it really creeped me out, but I didn’t want it to end! I gave this star 5 stars!

The fifth book I read this month was Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes, which I started before The Cellar but decided to put it down while I devoured that book. I wrote I review for this that I posted earlier this week. But to say something about Falling Kingdoms, it was a major disappointment! Read the review to know more about why. This book barely got 3 stars.

The second to last book i finished was The Long Walk by Richard Bachman (AKA Stephen King). I kind of liked it. This book was definitely very different from what I’ve ever read before. It wasn’t quite what I had expected and I was a bit disappointed, I had expected more throughout the whole story and the ending was definitely anti-climactic. 3,5 stars.

The last book I read was Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee. I don’t think I’ve processed this enough to put my thoughts into words. I’m just going to say what I read in a Goodreads comment after finishing it, ”I don’t know whether it’s genius or madness. Probably both.” By the end of this play it felt like I had been there with the characters, up all night, drinking and all the weird things that happened. This was a 5 star read for me. It was weird, funny, mad, very well written and portrayed, it was a brilliantly fucked up play, to sum it up.

That was all for this January Wrap-Up, my next post will be about the books I want to read during February. I hope you liked this post. Take care!

Kommentera

