Reading Slumps | 2016

For the past six months or so I have been in a major reading slump, or kind off anyway. I don’t know if it really is a reading slump or if it’s something else. Let me explain. I have read quite a few books even though I have had zero interest in some of them. There has been a few books that I just flew through during this time and really loved, but most of them took me a long time to read and were in the end just ok, just because it didn’t really interest me to begin with during this time.

I have come to the conclusion that I might skip the reading challenge I’d planned to do this year and just read what I want, because that makes more sense to me right now. I don’t want to read books that doesn’t interest me (for the moment) just because it is in a reading challenge. I will still read the 16 books I’ve chosen I really want and need to read during the year. But other than that I just want to read what I want to pick up at the time. And I also think I will be changing my GoodReads reading challenge to a smaller number. At this moment it says 60 books, but I don’t want to push myself to much and burn out completely so I think I might change it to 30 or something like that. If I read more than that, Great, if not and I just read the 30, Great too! 🙂

For the time being I think I won’t be reading more this month, just binge a TV-series or something and see when I want to pick up a book again, simple as that.

—-

A small update since I started writing this post a week ago, I have figured out that the books I need to read right now and interests me is really creepy psychological thrillers (like The Cellar by Natasha Preston and the like), so that is what I am going to read for the time being, and to be honest, I am loving it. Just yesterday I went and (finally!) bought You by Caroline Kepnes, read the first page and I’m already addicted, even though I have to finish Gone Girl first, but I am soo looking forward to reading You! ^^

Kommentera

