How I Got Into Reading – My Reading History | 2016

This post will be kind off like my memoir through my reading life, though it think it will be a short story really, anyways, I hope you enjoy it.

I have always been a reader. My mother used to read to me and my brother from a very young age and continued until I was old enough to think that I could read for my own and I started reading where mom had left off from the book we were reading then, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets in Swedish. That was the first ever book (that I remember) that I read all on my own, and I read through the whole Harry Potter series as the books came out. I think that by the time I started reading three books, or maybe four, were out. In between I read children’s books from the library, since we were very big on borrowing books, not buying (where did I go wrong after that? lol) I can’t remember at all what books I read during that time and until about 2008, I know I really wanted to read a lot and wanted to own most of them, I even wrote lists of books I needed to get, but couldn’t at that moment. But I can’t remember if I actually read or just dreamed about reading.

And in the end of 2008, I was away at school and I had seen posters about a movie called Twilight (yeah, here it comes) was going for one night only in the little village I lived in then. I didn’t think more about it and never went to see it. A few weeks later I decided to watch it elsewhere instead and was instantly hooked. I ordered the first book and read it in 24-hours, ordered the second book and read it in less than 48 hours, and so it went until I had bought the fourth and last book. I think that with delivery (of about 2-3 days) and all I read the whole series in two weeks. After that I wanted to read everything about vampires I could get my hands on but by then my bank account was empty and I couldn’t read everything.

Jump forward a few years and I found GoodReads, the list of books I wanted to read became really long and never ending (as it seemed), but at this time I actually bought books when I could, which wasn’t very often but it was a few books a month I think, but I can’t remember if I ever read them, probably not, lol. And I remember reading a lot of my mom’s crime books, especially by Camilla Läckberg and some other swedish crime author I can’t remember the name of at the moment. And then, in 2012, I found The Hunger Games, I remember reading it in a huge bind-up in swedish and all I can remember today was that I loved it and continued reading after that. Up to this point I could read maybe 20-30 books a year or something, maybe even less than that, because I hadn’t found books that were interesting enough to read and when i did, it was over way to soon. I read all books that were out by Johan Theorin, all books out in the shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella, Fifty Shades trilogy, and after that I discovered something called YA, and I found a shop that really quickly became my all time favorite bookshop and still is! The following months or rather a year or so, I read everything I could get my hands on; the Fallen series by Lauren Kate, Hush, Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick, The Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater, I started and read most of the House of Night series by P.C. and Kristin Cast, continuing with The Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices, followed by the Divergent trilogy. When 2014 was over, I had read more books than I thought was possible.

And finally, I’m going to tell you about that last quarter of 2014, to about October or November (can’t remember which it was), when i found BookTube and a whole freaking world opened up and craved my attention (and money). I remember that I was sitting day in and day out by the computer writing down titles of books I really needed to get, because they sounded like something I would love, and the rest of the year I simply planned (and read of course) what I would read for the upcoming year, to read as much as possible to take up for lost reading time. January 2015 I read 8 books, which was more than I thought was possible. After finding BookTube I have found so many good (and horrible) books, a lot of authors I might never have heard of otherwise, and I shop more books than I ever have in my life before. At this point I love reading more than anything and I could really do it day and night if it was possible.

All this I really have to thank my mother for, for reading for me and my brother when we were children, and for opening up the world of reading for me. And I am soo grateful for BookTube and Goodreads. When I look back at the books I read before those too, my reading world was very, very limited compared to what it is now, and I can’t wait to get around to all the books I want to read at some period of my life. But was the quote by Frank Zappa says: ”So many books, so little time”.

Anyways, that was it for this time. This post became longer than I thought it might, but hey, at least I wrote something and posted it since it has been 9 days since the last post (I blame the x-files for that)! Until next time, Take Care 🙂

Kommentera

