July Wrap-Up | 2016

July was a great reading month for me, it really looks like my reading slump is over, at least for now. I read 11 books, which i haven’t done, ever, before. My only problem now is that I’m almost out of contemporary YA books, which is what I’ve read for the past two months.

 2016-08-02 10.02.29

  • Tonight the Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales
    This book was really nothing special. Up until the New York trip it was just meh, then it picked up quite a bit and I enjoyed the night spent there, but then it fell flat again once the morning came. 3 stars.
  • Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
    I can’t put to words how good this book was. I read it in two sittings and couldn’t put it down. It read like a basic contemporary novel but quite different because of the obvious that the love story is about a brother and sister, which threw me a little bit at the beginning since it’s nothing I’ve read before, but I loved it in the end and sobbed quite a bit by the end of it. 5 solid stars.
  • The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West
    This was a light and fluffy read, not the best contemporary I’ve ever read but it was more than okay. It was what I needed to read after the heartbreaking episode of Forbidden. 3,5 stars.
  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
    I really liked this book a lot, it was the perfect amount of fun, fluff, and romance. The only thing that took away of the rating a little bit was that for the majority of the book was mostly boring school stuff, but since most of it led to the ending I’m okay with it, but there were some things that I thought didn’t need to be there. Simon has  become a new favorite fictional character. I gave this book 4,5 stars.
  • Just One Year by Gayle Forman
    This was a good ”continuation” (since it’s not quite a continuation but the same story but from Willem’s POV) to Just One Day, not the greatest but still one of the better ones I’ve read this far. To be honest it dragged a bit at times, but it didn’t bother me too much. I needed to read Willem’s side of things, what really happened to him the day after, and the whole year afterwards. 4 stars.
  • Just One Night by Gayle Forman (e-book)
    The novella after Just One Year. I couldn’t accept that the story ended like it did in both Just One Day and Just one Year. I had a vague memory of there being a novella and looked it up, and sure enough, it was a continuation of what happened after both earlier books and it left me more than satisfied with the ending. I loved it, even though it was way to short in my opinion, it was what I needed to feel this satisfaction. 4,5 stars (the .5 star fell out because of it being to short).

    22021611

  • My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
    This book was actually a little too fluffy for my taste, it was so cute and sweet I almost gagged at times, but only almost. And even thought I hated Sam’s mom throughout the whole book and didn’t understand her logic at all, she came around in the end and it all turned out okay, I will never stop hating her. But just like the other contemporaries I’ve read this summer this was a perfect read for me. 4 stars.
  • 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
    I don’t really know what to say about this book. It was a little bit of a letdown, there wasn’t really any character development and I was really confused about the ”love story” that was supposed to kind of be in it. I wasn’t expecting much from this one but it was a little bit disappointing anyways. When I rated the book in Goodreads I gave it 3 stars, but maybe it’s more of something between 3 and 3,5, but no more than that.
  • Open Road Summer by Emery Lord
    As most of the other books I read this month, it was perfection. I laughed, I cried and I left that giddy fluffy heartwarming and heart-wrenching at the same time kind off feeling. The only thing I didn’t care about was the whole music scene, it’s really not my thing, but it suited the story really well. 4 stars.
  • Pensionatet vid världens ände by Camilla Davidsson
    This is the second book in a swedish feel-good trilogy. The first book was one of the best books I read last year. This one was good, but not the best I’ve read this year, but definitely a read-worthy book. 4 stars.
  • Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
    Don’t really know what to think of this book, I have no idea how to rate it either. I mean it was good and I can relate quite well to Hannah’s story, the depression and suicidal thoughts I suffered from in my late teens. But somehow I can’t wrap my thoughts around the whole story, I don’t know if it’s the format of the book or what, but until I can wrap my mind around it I can’t rate it.
    After thinking it through I’m going to give this book 3,5 stars. It was a well written book and I could definitely identify myself with Hannah.

All in all, it was a great reading month and I hope the rest of the year will be something like this one too.

Kommentera

