November & December Wrap-Up | 2016

November

I thought it would be a problematic month to get things read because I participated in NaNoWriMo, but it hasn’t been a problem at all. I read 7 books in total, which I’m really surprised by myself that I succeeded. I guess being a planner this year helped me a lot since it wasn’t this easy to write last year, and that has given me a lot more time to read than I thought was possible.

2016-12-25-12-31-42

  • Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk
    I had no idea what to think about this book before I read it. I saw the movie years ago so I don’t even remember it that much. So this book was a surprise, in a good way. I loved it. It was so weird and crazy I couldn’t help myself. There was however a couple of things I had problems with, like all the things that was repeated over and over and over again throughout the whole book. 4 stars.
  • The Rose Society by Marie Lu
    This second book was way better than the first one. I have really nothing to complain about except that it sometimes was a bit repetitive and slow. But it was really good. 4 solid stars.
  • The Midnight Star by Marie Lu
    This was a great ending to this trilogy. As the other books I think there was too many things repeated and too often, but other than that I love this book more than the other two. 4,5 stars.
  • Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
    When I started this book I thought it was going to be a struggle, if not impossible, to get through since it’s been like 1,5 years since I read Delirium, the first book in the trilogy, but it wasn’t a problem at all. The things that were re-caped from the first book I miraculously remembered without a problem and I flew through the entire thing. It was great, just as good as Delirium, only a little bit more dragging at times, but it was equally as good. 4 stars.
  • Requiem by Lauren Oliver
    It wasn’t the best ending in the world, it was a bit too predictable, but it was still good. The only thing I didn’t like one sec was the open ending, I mean, what the hell happened after everything?? With the world, with Alex and Lena?? There were too many opportunities for what might happen after the book ended, I like open endings but this was way too open, simple as that. 4 stars.
  • The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey
    I don’t really know what to think, it was okay, good even, but the first half of the book was concentrated on just a couple of hours time, which bothered me somehow, I can’t pinpoint why, but it did. So,yeah, it was okay but not much more. 3,5 stars.
  • The Last Star by Rick Yancey
    I liked this last book in the trilogy enough. I don’t know how I feel about the ending. It was very predictable but for me it was a good thing, it was just that ending I have mixed feelings about. I gave the book 4,5 stars when I first finished it, but I’ve moved it down to 4 stars after some debating with myself. Update: I’ve come to the conclusion I didn’t like the ending at all, but I won’t change the rating since the rest of the book was really good.

I also started but it has taken me so long to finish it that I simply need to move it to my December TBR, it’s Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. It was soo slow in the beginning, I think it took me four days to get through the first third of the book alone. I like the story enough to continue reading it at least.

December

I had a huge TBR for December since I was going to finish up a lot of series and resolutions, but things didn’t go as I had planned and I ended up reading no more than 4 books.

2016-12-31-12-49-25

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
    I don’t really know what to say. When I started this book I had high hopes since all I had heard was that it was a fast paste heist book, but about 75% of the book I was just.., bored, the story was so slow, hell, it took me a week and a half to finish it. There was too much of info-dumps about the characters in the beginning, and I couldn’t really get into the story until then and I didn’t really care about the characters. But then things happened and it got better, and I kind of started to like a couple of the characters, some more then others. 3,5 stars, even though I so wanted to rate it higher, I just can’t.
  • The Summer and the City by Candace Bushnell
    I loved this book. I’ve seen the TV-series The Carrie Diaries, which i loved a lot. This wasn’t anything like it, it was actually anything but. But I saw the book as a totally different story, it wasn’t even linked to the series really. The only thing, or rather character I didn’t like one bit, I actually hated her, was Maggie, I can’t even remember how many times I wanted to strangle her dead during the couple of chapters she was in the story. But the story itself was great and I wish there were more books about Carrie (except Sex and the City of course, but that’s only one book). 4,5 stars.
  • End of Days by Susan Ee
    It took me longer than I wanted to read through but it was good enough of an ending in the Angelfall trilogy. I liked the first two books very much, I think they were one or two of my favorite books last year. I’m not really sure this was in the same league as the first two, but it was really good. I loved the ending of the book and it was a great conclusion in a trilogy. 4,5 stars.
  • The Martian by Andy Wier
    Definitely the best book I’ve read this year. Even though I went into the book expecting a lot of scientific terms and stuff since I’ve heard a lot about it, it was so easy to read and not hard at all to understand and I’m in no sense a science buff or anything. At times I thought it was a itsy-bitsy boring but it wasn’t dragging or anything. I loved it so much. 5 solid stars.

I started Reading Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo after I finished Six of Crows, but I haven’t been able to finish it. I read it for little over a week and came around 200 pages in before I realized that it would take too long to finish, and I wouldn’t be able to read any other books, so I put it on hold for now to read a few other books, and I’ll have to see if I want to pick it up again after that, if not I might have to DNF it.

That’s it for this year. I wish you all a happy new year, see you next year! 🙂

Kommentera

