Top Books of 2016 & 2016 Bookish Resolutions Review

So, 2016 is over and it’s time to look back and decide which books of the year became my favorites and which resolutions I completed and which I didn’t. My favorite books of the year below are in no specific order and I have really no explanations to give on all of them, but for some there might be.

The only one missing from the picture is Me Before You, because my mom has it hidden somewhere, lol.

  1. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – When I read this book it was exactly what I needed at the time. I was going through a hard time and this book reminded me of how much I still have to give and how much there is to live for, it actually helped me get through that hard time.
  2. The Martian by Andy Wier – This was the last book I read in 2016. I think this was the best book I read all year, it had everything I needed at the time; it was funny and I actually laughed out loud several times and it was easy to get through even though there were plenty of scientific terms which some I didn’t understand at all, but it didn’t matter. I really loved it.
  3. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
  4. The Cellar by Natasha Preston – This was one of the, if not the first book I read in 2016, and it was exactly what I was looking for. It was creepy and freaky, I love reading everything like what this book was I still think about it.
  5. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  6. Just One Day by Gayle Forman
  7. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
  8. A Hundred Pieces of Me by Lucy Dillon – Like Me Before You I read this at a time I really needed it, I wasn’t in bad shape or anything, but I needed to remind myself of what matters and what doesn’t. It wasn’t quite what I had expected, but that didn’t matter, it was actually a bit better than I had expected.
  9. Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo – I was hesitant to completing the trilogy after loosing interest since it had been so long since I read the first book, but I found the last two books in my favorite bookstore after not finding what I was really looking for, I have been looking for both of them but only found one of them so I hadn’t bought them before. Boy was I happy to have finally bought and reading them both. I think this has become my favorite trilogy of all times along with a few more.
  10. Aristotle and Dante Discovers the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
  11. I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
  12. Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines
  13. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson – All I have to say is: it’s Morgan Matson! 😉
  14. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma – It was a devastating read, and months after reading it I still think about it. I didn’t really see it just as an incestuous story, but it was a contemporary love story about forbidden love, I could overlook the incest in it which I thought would be a problem for me, but it wasn’t.
  15. Unforgiven by Lauren Kate – I’ve read the entire Fallen series by Lauren Kate and even thought I loved it at the time, I’ve lost a lot of interest in re-reading that series and I wasn’t a fan of Lauren Kate any longer, but when I found out there would be a book about Cam, who was my favorite character in the series, I needed it. And Oh My God, it was way better than I would ever have thought it could be.
  16. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
  17. Summer in the City by Candace Bushnell

Bookish Resolutions

You can read my original 2016 resolutions in the very beginning of this blog since it was one of the first posts I ever posted.

The Reading Goals for 2016

  • Read a total of 60 books ✔︎- I’ve finished this goal in October I think, and I read 74 books in total.
  • Finish of series/trilogy’s (not counting novella collections), goal was to finish 6 of them and I finished:
    – Delirium by Lauren Oliver
    – The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
    – Penryn & the End of Days by Susan Ee
    – Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
    – Under the never sky by Veronica Rossi
    – The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke
    – The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell
    – Just one Day by Gayle Forman
    – The Young Elites by Marie Lu
    – The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
    – The Summer I turned pretty by Jenny Han
    And since I started 15 new series this year for some reason, there’s supposed to be 21 series finished, but that obviously didn’t happen even though I tried, I really did. One thing I’ve learned from this; Don’t start more series than you can finish! Lol. Well, 12 finished series is better than none.
  • Read at least 1 book written in verse
  • Finish my 16 books in 2016 – see below this list, but I didn’t finish it.
  • Start 4 new series/trilogy’s ✔︎
    – A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
    – Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
    – Falling Kingdom by Morgan Rhodes
    – The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher
    And Eleven more!!!
  • Read a book, buy a book – I can’t buy one book until I’ve read one book! – I’ve done surprisingly well with this. I’ve read 74 books and I’ve bought 69, so I think I did quite well. I’ll definitely do this again next year but I’m going to tweek the number a bit. ✔︎
  • Read at least 5 books in Swedish ✔︎
  • Read 5 classics – This did not happen this year, I just wasn’t in the mood to read classics.

2016 in 2016 books

  1. A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin 
  2. Forbidden by Tamara Suzuma ✔︎
  3. Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  4. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas ✔︎
  5. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera ✔︎
  6. You by Caroline Kepnes ✔︎
  7. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  8. The Martian by Andy Wier ✔︎
  9. The Cellar by Natasha Preston ✔︎
  10. Fight Club by Chuck Palaniuk ✔︎
  11. The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate ✔︎
  12. Pensionatet vid världens ände by Camilla Davidsson ✔︎
  13. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes ✔︎
  14. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli ✔︎
  15. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher ✔︎
  16. Storm Front by Jim Butcher ✔︎

Out of these I’ve read 13/16 books, sure I actually changed the list during the year one time since my priorities changed, but I still didn’t complete the list. I won’t be doing this next year though since it caused me too much stress I really don’t need.

Kommentera

